User Tag List

Thread: Penguin Felt Along

Downloads
    Uploads

Penguin Felt Along

Okay, so I am a beginner needle felter, so this may not be too helpful, but I will try, LOL! Also, this penguin (with the hat) is not actually finished, but I just did a quick once thru to show the steps. I will go back and felt him some more, and add the details suck as beak, eyes, feet, and a little sculpturing.

First up, you need wool roving, needle felting needles, and a piece of foam to support your project. (my foam used to be larger, but my kids needed it for another project, and this was all that was left when they were done )

I got most of my supplies on Ebay, the foam I bought at joanns for cheap. Check around for prices on needles and roving, it can be pretty reasonable, to fairly expensive. Needles come in different sizes, I am using a 36 triangle (general purpose), and I also use 38 star (fine). This is what I have, so this is what I use.

CAUTION, these needles are sharp, and have little barbs on them, so major ouch if you are not careful!! This is where the foam pad comes in handy, the needle will poke into the foam, and not into your lap, hand etc.

So, now you decide what you are going to make. I am making a penguin here, so I am using natural roving as my base. I pull a hunk off, I do not cut with scissors.

Now, start poking your needle up and down all over your piece of roving. It doesn't have to go all the way thru. The bits of wool will bind up against one another as the needle is pushed in and out, causing the wool to felt up. Keep your needle straight up and down as you are using it. This is what it looked like after lightly poking with the needle all the way around.

Now I am going to add black. I pulled of a piece of roving, and layed it around my natural, and started felting it on the first piece. I usually go around the edges first, to kind of get them stable and in place, and then continue with the rest, making sure I do this fairly evenly.